Since so many people die in North Carolina as a result of drinking related accidents each year, the law is not gentle with DUI offenders or lenient with its DUI penalty laws. North Carolina has some of the harshest penalties for those who are convicted of DUIs, even if it is their very first offense. Furthermore, those who lose their licenses as a result of DUI charges will continue to have restricted driving privileges for quite some time even after their licenses are restored and other North Carolina DUI penalties are over. For this reason, it’s better for everyone to avoid drinking and driving at all costs. Not only will this save lives and stop many accidents and injuries from occurring, but it will also keep individuals from losing their driving privileges and facing other harsh North Carolina DUI penalties for their actions.
First time DUI offenders in the state of North Carolina will automatically have their licenses revoked for a period of one year. They also may be fined amounts as high as $2,000, and they must serve at least one full day in jail under new North Carolina DUI penalties laws. In some rare cases, offenders may be placed in jail for up to two years. They must also complete a full day of community service, and go for a month without limited driving privileges. Of course, there is always room for the judge to be more or less lenient depending upon the circumstances of the conviction.
A second DUI offense is even worse and even more serious for the perpetrator in terms of North Carolina DUI penalties. If the second DUI occurs within three years of the first, the driver will have his or her license revoked for a period of four years. Drivers can also be fined $1,000 or more and must spend at least one week in jail. It is also possible for them to spend up to a year in jail. Also, no limited driving privileges will be given to those drivers who receive their second convictions within seven years of receiving the first.
Once it comes down to the third DUI conviction, North Carolina DUI penalties get really serious. If the first or the second DUI occurred within the past five years, the driver’s license is revoked permanently. Most states won’t even consider doing this until the fifth or sixth DUI, and some only permanently revoke the license when someone is killed or severely injured as a result of the infraction. Furthermore, perpetrators can be fined as much as $2,000, must face at least two weeks in jail or even as much as two years.