You might think that in a vast state like New York, where there are tons of cabs everywhere and all sorts of public transportation options, that individuals driving under the influence of alcohol is not a problem. Unfortunately, however, this is not the case. Approximately a third of all accidents ending in death in the state are caused due to persons operating motor vehicles while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. For some reason, the temptation to get behind the wheel after having a few (or more) drinks is just too much for some people. This is unfortunate because not only can it end in death or serious injury, both for the party and for innocent victims on the road, but it can also land the perpetrator behind bars as a DUI penalty.
To help decrease the problem of drivers driving under the influence, the state has gotten stricter about its New York DUI penalties for offenders. Now, even first time offenders face serious consequences as a result of their DUI convictions. The New York DUI penalties become even worse for those who repeatedly violate the rules of the road. The more times a person has been convicted of a DUI or another related charge, the more difficult and harsh that person can expect the penalties of a new DUI to be.
Let’s start with first time offenders, since a mistake like this can happen to absolutely anyone who chooses to drink and drive. This offense is classified as a misdemeanor and thus is punishable by a fine of no less than $500 and no more than $1000. Perpetrators may spend as much as a year in jail under New York DUI penalties and will have their licenses taken away for six months at best, or possibly more depending upon the circumstances of the DUI and the judge’s decision.
Any driver who receives a second DUI charge within ten years of the first will have this next charge count as a felony, a much more serious type of crime. This is very important to note, since most other states do not count DUIs as felonies until at least the fourth or fifth charge, but the state of New York has decided to step it up a notch and enact harsher New York DUI penalties. Offenders will be fined no less than $1,000 and no more than $5,000. They can spend as long as four years in jail and will lose their licenses for a period of at least one year.
Those who make the mistake of committing a DUI a third time within ten years of the first or second charge can expect the most severe of New York DUI penalties. Again, this charge is a felony. The driver will be fined a minimum of $2,000 and a maximum of $10,000. He or she can also spend as much as seven years in jail, and will have their license revoked for at least one year.